ISBEC is the first independent committee to have multisystem experts on its board. In India , where the pluralistic system of medicine is prevalent all over the country, it was essential to have an Ethics Committee to understand the research related needs of all systems of medicine with reference to the Indian population. Whilst international benchmarks were evolving as per the ICH/GCP guidelines there were no guidelines or Ethics Committees to guide research in alternative systems of medicine ie Ayurved, Homeopathy and Unani medicine. ISBEC has a panel of experts from all systems of medicine and basic sciences as well as social scientists, lay person representation and legal experts.

ISBEC was formed as a result of the efforts of two giants in Clinical Pharmacology in India, Late Dr Arun Sangani and Dr Ashok Vaidya, both well known internationally for their contributions to clinical pharmacology and clinical trials in India. They included Dr Kumud Mehta, eminent pediatrician, Dr Rama Vaidya, and Dr Vidya Acharya, renowned nephrologist and Dr Shridhar Apte, eminent homeopathic physician, in the initial committee.

The seeds of the committee were sown in the formation of Institutional Ethics Committee for Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan’s Swami Prakashananda Ayurveda Researh Centre (SPARC) in 1995 which soon became independent from SPARC under the direct patronage of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan until 2007. Several projects in Modern (allopathic) and Ayurveda (Traditional) medicine which included clinical trials by multinational Pharma companies or sponsored by national research organisations like CSIR, DBT, ICMR, or SNDT University were evaluated by this committee which had renowned clinical and basic scientists as its members. In 2008 the Committee applied to the Government of India to be registered under the Companies Act 1965 as a nonprofit voluntary organization. Late Dr Arun Sangani was the founder Director of this independent ethics committee. After his premature demise Dr Meena Dave, an eminent clinical pharmacologist took on the mantle of ISBEC chair. Currently the Clinical Pharmacologist and Pharmaceutics expert & Physician Dr Kiran Marthak is the chairman of this committee.

Inter System Biomedica Ethics Committee (ISBEC) is registered with Drug Controller General India for approval and review of BA/BE studies. ISBEC has Ethic Committee Registration No. ECR/108/Indt/MH/2013 issued under Rule 122DD of the Drugs & Cosmetic Rules 1945 wef September 2013 for a period of 3 years.

Contact No 022-26751147
Member- Secretary: Mobile: 9987025059

      More About ISBEC (Slide Show)